Hi! I’m starting this blog with a post about one of my most favourite travel destinations, Mt. Mayon in Albay province, Bicol Region.

img_9239
view of Mayon Volcano from Legazpi City Central Terminal

Famous for its perfect cone, Mayon Volcano greets every visitor who enters the province of Albay. A natural masterpiece, Mayon is truly majestic and much lovelier when seen in person. I have known since I was in elementary school that Mayon is popular because of its shape but only when I got to see it in person that I realised how beautiful this landform really is.

I had been to Albay four times already but this jewel of Region 5 consistently puts me in awe every time I see it. I may sound weird, but being in front of Mayon gave me the feeling that I was like in front of Our Creator.  Its grandeur made me feel how mighty God really is. Its beauty made me feel how generous and kind our Lord is.

On the other hand, from the first time I saw it (around 3-4 years ago) until last year (2016), I thought that we have not taken advantage of this gift as a tourist destination. I have heard about Mayon since I was in grade school (I was in grade 1 in 1988). I have read about it in textbooks and postcards. During my visits, I have seen some local and foreign visitors. However, I feel that Mayon Volcano deserves more attention than that. Mt. Mayon, Legazpi City, the province of Albay, and the entire Bicol Region has a lot of world class attractions to offer.

 

Accessibility:

by bus from Araneta Center Bus Station to Legazpi City Central Terminal (around 12 hours)

by plane: Manila to Legazpi City Airport (around 30 mins.)

within Legazpi City: jeepneys and tricycles

Attractions:

Mayon Volcano, Cagsawa Ruins, Lignon Hill, Legazpi Boulevard, Port of Legazpi, Cathedral of St. Gregory the Great

Amenities:

malls, shops, restaurants, public transportation, public toilets in parks

must-try: 1st Colonial Grill, Waway’s Restaurant

Accommodation:

hotels and inns

I have stayed in: The Oriental Legazpi, Embarcadero Hotel

Activities:

ATV ride around Mayon Volcano, stroll along Legazpi Boulevard, zip line in Lignon Hill

Ibalong Festival – August

Magayon Festival – May

 

 

 

